MOC-FLoyd Valley Dutchman named Mr. Iowa Basketball by the IPSWA

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) announced the 2024 boys basketball all-state teams on Tuesday.

The teams were selected during an in-person meeting by approximately 40 Iowa print sports writers and basketball coaches during a meeting on Friday, March 8.

Jesse Van Kalsbeek of MOC-Floyd Valley was named Mr. Iowa Basketball 2024 by the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association.

A 6-foot shooting guard that’s headed to NAIA power Northwestern College in Orange City, Van Kalsbeek had 31 points in MOC-Floyd Valley’s 76-66 semifinal loss to Waverly-Shell Rock at this year’s state tournament.

In his senior season, Van Kalsbeek averaged 26 points per game, second in Class 3A, despite missing six games with a broken hand this year. He ended his career with 1,376 points, 517 rebounds, 158 assists, 117 steals and 46 blocks (31 of which came this season).

The Mr. Basketball honor and the all-state teams are voted on by both sports writers and high school basketball coaches who attended the meeting. Nominations were taken in advance of the meeting online, as well as made during the selection meeting. Only one vote was allowed per class from each newspaper or school.

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association greatly appreciates the assistance and participation from the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association.

The link to the full all-state basketball honorees is here.



Latest Girls Soccer Rankings Out

2024 Iowa Girls High School Soccer Rankings Compiled by the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Thursday,

Local News